History of the collection

Jewelry art probably suffered more significant damage during the time of massive sales of cultural heritage by the Soviet government in the 1920-1930s than any other field of art. The acute shortage of funds faced by the young Soviet power gave birth to the idea of solving financial problems at the expense of cultural valuables, which led to a gaping lacunae in the history of art in general and of Russian jewelry art in particular. The Russian jewelry industry was unparalleled in the second half of the 19th century and early 20th century. Advances in production, as well as increased demand for valuables, led to the creation of true masterpieces in the jewelry field. Ten to twenty years later, the jewels were barbarically ripped out of these works of art. In the best cases, these invaluable monuments of art were sold abroad. The famous Easter eggs made by the House of Fabergé — one of the most outstanding examples of Russian jewelry art — were among the masterpieces made with precious stones and metals that were stolen from national treasuries and museums.

The Fabergé phenomenon interests people to this day. The jewelry company established by Carl Fabergé in St. Petersburg in the last quarter of the 19th century had a well-established structure and huge creative potential. The firm very quickly won worldwide recognition. The Fabergé style is inextricably linked with the aesthetics of historicism. The great jeweler formed his artistic tastes in the second half of the 19th century, when the trend was to pay special attention to the cultural heritage of previous eras. Carl Fabergé, being a dedicated fan of classic styles, was no exception. A perfect example is his Cockerel Egg, one of the centerpieces of the museum’s collection. The egg was given by Tsar Nicholas II as an Easter gift to his mother, the Empress Maria Fyodoronova, in 1900, and became a kind of tribute to the outgoing 19th century. Fabergé intricately mixed historical styles when designing the egg, creating a combination which was surprisingly harmoniously and simultaneously colorful, decorative and elegant in a Russian way. The unexpected juxtaposition of baroque plasticity, the graphic style of Louis XVI, and oriental motifs made the Cockerel Egg practically the benchmark work of art of the era of Historicism.

The House of Fabergé created goods of all different denominations, from relatively simple products to very unique works of art. The best pieces, of course, were the items made to order for rulers and the aristocracy, but this connection with the imperial house and the high society of pre-revolutionary Russia subsequently played a fatal role for the House of Fabergé’s heritage. In the 1920-1930's, during the mass sale of property and masterpieces from museums confiscated by the Soviet government, a huge number of works with the Fabergé brand were either destroyed or sold abroad. This is why the most significant collection of works by the famous St. Petersburg jewelry house was started outside Russia.

In 1960, the American media magnate Malcolm Forbes (1919-1990) purchased a gold Fabergé cigarette case at an antique gallery. Forbes was a passionate collector of Fabergé rarities over the next thirty years, amassing a collection of more than three hundred Fabergé pieces. But following his death, his unique collection started to be sold off. First single pieces began to appear at auctions, but then the whole Forbes collection was put on sale by his heirs in February 2004. The integrity of this unique art was saved only by the Russian businessman Viktor Vekselberg, who completely bought out the Forbes collection, thereby re-filling a once-devastated niche in the cultural heritage of Russia.

Mr. Vekselberg established the Link of Times Foundation, which today possesses the Fabergé collection. This collection is unique in its size, typological and stylistic diversity, and is noteworthy for the highest level of mastery of its works, many of which have memorial significance. The core of the collection are the Easter eggs created by the orders of the Russian Emperor Alexander III (1845-1894) for his wife Maria Fyodorovna and his son, and by his successor, Nicholas II (1868-1918), for his mother and for his wife - the last Russian Empress, Alexandra Fyodorovna, the fourth daughter of Louis IV, Grande Duke of Hesse-Darmstadt.

The longtime Christian custom of giving dyed and painted Easter eggs became a real industry in the second half of the 19th century in Russia. Luxurious eggs made from porcelain, glass, semi-precious stones, and precious metals became real works of art. Fabergé Easter eggs, which were unparalleled in the originality of their ideas and craftsmanship, were the highest achievement of this genre.


The first Fabergé egg – the Hen Egg – was given by Tsar Alexander III to his wife Maria Fyodorovna on Easter, 1885, and the egg made such a good impression on the Empress that Fabergé received the title of Supplier to the Court of His Imperial Majesty in the same year. From this point on Fabergé would get an Easter egg order yearly from the royal family. Fabergé would hand over the precious souvenirs to the Russian Emperor on Friday of Holy Week for more than thirty years. Each subsequent egg was different from the previous one. It was difficult to create a new Easter gift each year, endlessly playing with the same egg shape. Nevertheless, the House of Fabergé fulfilled its task with honor. Once, thanking her son Nicky for another “wonderful egg” by Fabergé, the Empress Maria Fyodorovna enthusiastically exclaimed: “Fabergé is just amazing. He’s a genius and the greatest artist of our time.”

The Fabergé House created fifty Easter eggs for the Imperial family from 1885 to 1916. Eight of these disappeared without a trace in the tumultuous 1920s-1930s. The remaining 42 were scattered around public and private collections around the world. Today, nine of the Fabergé eggs belong to the Link of Times Foundation. This collection is the second-largest Fabergé egg collection in the world. The Kremlin Armory collection in Moscow has just one more egg than the Link of Times collection.

The Link of Times collection is unique in the sense that it contains milestone works in the development of Fabergé craftsmanship. The collection includes the Hen Egg (1885) – the very first Fabergé egg in the Emperor’s Easter suite, as well as the Rosebud Egg (1895) – the first Easter souvenir given by Nicholas II to his wife, Alexandra Fyodorovna. The exceptional Renaissance Egg (1894) is significant for the fact that it was the last egg given by Tsar Alexander III to his wife Maria Fyodorovna, 8 months before the Tsar’s death. The Order of St. George Egg (1916) was the last Easter gift given by Nicholas II to his mother, and the only egg that Maria Fyodorovna took out of revolutionary Russia in 1919. The Imperial Coronation Egg is one of the most famous Fabergé eggs. It was given by Nicholas II to his wife Alexandra Fyodorovna in 1897, to commemorate the Coronation celebrations held in Moscow a year earlier. Fitted inside a velvet-lined compartment is a precise replica of the golden Imperial coach that carried the Empress Alexandra to her coronation at Moscow's Uspensky Cathedral.

Besides Easter eggs of the Imperial series, the Link of Times collection also includes three Fabergé eggs made for the Duchess of Marlborough (nee Consuelo Vanderbilt, granddaughter of the American railroad magnate) and the Russian merchant wife Varvara Kelkh. That said, the Link of Times collection is not limited to Easter gifts. The House of Fabergé also made cigarette cases, jewelry, precious haberdashery, stationery, presentation works with imperial symbols, etc. Examples of these works can be seen at the Fabergé Museum in St. Petersburg. Most of them are commemorative items belonging to members of the Russian Imperial family, such as a lorgnette belonging to the Grand Duchess Elizabeth Fyodorovna, a cork cigarette case with a presentation inscription of the Empress Alexandra Fyodorovna given to her spouse, the Emperor Nicholas II, and a clock with a crystal globe from the Imperial property.

Many of the artworks exhibited at the Fabergé Museum have the seals of Michael Perkhin – the most famous master to work with Carl Fabergé. One can get an idea of his work both from Easter eggs, of which he was the constant creator until his death in 1903, and from other masterpieces of the Link of Times collection. Examples include a unique photo frame with rhinestone inserts owned by the dowager Empress Maria Fyodorovna, and a leather folder given to the Imperial family by representatives of St. Petersburg on the occasion of the return of Nicholas II and Alexandra to the capital after their coronation.

Fabergé’s artwork has long been one of the most recognizable and vivid symbols of Russia. Thus all the more important is the homecoming of such a significant part of his legacy. This is truly an incredibly romantic ending to one of the most fascinating stories in the history of art.

Show all

История коллекции

Пожалуй, ни одно из направлений искусства не понесло такого значительного ущерба во время массовых распродаж культурного наследия советским правительством в 1920-1930-е годы, как ювелирное. Острая нехватка средств, с которой столкнулась молодая власть Советов, породила идею решить финансовую проблему за счет культурных ценностей, что привело к зияющим лакунам в истории искусства вообще и русского ювелирного искусства в частности. Во второй половине XIX – начале ХХ столетия русская ювелирная промышленность не знала себе равных. Успехи производства, а также растущий спрос на драгоценности способствовали созданию подлинных шедевров в этой области. Десять-двадцать лет спустя из них варварски вырывались драгоценные камни; в лучшем случае, бесценные памятники продавались за границу. В числе изделий с драгоценными камнями и металлами, изъятых из национальных сокровищниц и  музеев – были знаменитые пасхальные яйца фирмы Карла Фаберже - одного из самых ярких представителей русского ювелирного искусства.

Феномен Фаберже до сих пор вызывает интерес. Организованное им в последней четверти XIX века в Санкт-Петербурге ювелирное предприятие с четко отлаженной структурой и огромным творческим потенциалом, очень быстро завоевало всемирное признание. Стиль Фаберже неразрывно связан с эстетикой историзма. Во второй половине XIX века, когда формировался художественный вкус великого ювелира, с особым вниманием относились к культурному наследию предшествующих эпох. Карл Фаберже, «убежденный поклонник классических стилей», не был исключением. Прекрасный пример тому - представленное на выставке яйцо-часы «Петушок», являющееся центром экспозиции. Оно было подарено Николаем II матери, вдовствующей императрице Марии Федоровне, на Пасху 1900 года и стало своеобразной данью уходящему XIX столетию. В его оформлении, Фаберже причудливо смешал исторические стили, сочетание которых оказалось удивительно гармонично и одновременно по-русски красочно, декоративно и нарядно. Неожиданное соседство барочной пластичности, графичности стиля Людовика XVI и восточных мотивов оказалось едва ли не эталонным произведением эпохи историзма, языком которого столь виртуозно владели мастера фирмы Фаберже.

Фаберже выпускались изделия самого разного достоинства, от довольно простых до уникальных. Лучшими, безусловно, были предметы, изготовленные по заказу царствующих особ и аристократии, однако, эта связь с императорским домом и высшим обществом дореволюционной России сыграла впоследствии роковую роль для наследия фирмы. В 1920-1930-е годы, во время массовых распродаж Советской властью конфискованной собственности и шедевров из музеев, огромное количество произведений с клеймом Фаберже было либо уничтожено, либо продано за границу. Именно поэтому формирование самой значительной коллекции работ знаменитого петербургского ювелирного дома началось за пределами России.

В 1960 году американский медиа-магнат Малькольм Форбс (1919-1990) приобрел в антикварной галерее золотой портсигар Фаберже. В течение тридцати последующих лет страстного коллекционирования он собрал более трехсот раритетов, однако после его смерти началась распродажа уникального собрания. Сначала на аукционах стали появляться единичные предметы, а в феврале 2004 года, все собрание было выставлено наследниками на продажу. Целостность уникального художественно-исторического комплекса была сохранена лишь благодаря крупнейшему российскому предпринимателю Виктору Феликсовичу Вексельбергу, который полностью выкупил коллекцию Форбса, заполнив опустошенную некогда нишу в культурном наследии России.

Господином Вексельбергом был учрежден фонд «Связь времен», в распоряжении которого находится коллекция Фаберже. Она уникальна по своим размерам, типологическому и стилистическому разнообразию, высочайшему уровню исполнения предметов, многие из которых имеют мемориальный характер. Ядро собрания – пасхальные яйца, созданные по заказам российских императоров: Александра III (1845-1894) для своей супруги Марии Федоровны и его сына и преемника Николая II (1868-1918) для матери и для жены - последней российской императрицы Александры Федоровны, четвертой дочери герцога Гессен-Дармштадтского Людвига IV.

Давний христианский обычай дарить на Пасху крашеные и расписанные яйца превратился во второй половине XIX столетия в России в настоящую индустрию. Роскошные яйца из фарфора, стекла, поделочных камней, драгоценных материалов становятся настоящими произведениями искусства. Изделия работы Фаберже, не знающие себе равных по оригинальности идеи и мастерству исполнения, - наивысшее достижение этого жанра.

 

Первое яйцо от Фаберже - «Курочка» - было поднесено императором Александром III своей супруге Марии Федоровне на Пасху 1885 года и так ей понравилось, что ювелир в том же году получил звание Поставщика двора Его Императорского Величества, а заказ с тех пор стал традиционным. На протяжении более тридцати лет в пятницу Страстной недели Фаберже передавал российскому императору драгоценные сувениры. Каждое последующее яйцо не было похоже на предыдущее. Создавать из года в год новый пасхальный подарок, бесконечно обыгрывая одну и ту же форму, было довольно сложно. Тем не менее, фирма с честью справлялась с этой задачей. Однажды, благодаря сына Ники за очередное «чудное яйцо» от Фаберже, императрица Мария Федоровна восторженно воскликнула: «Просто восхитительно, этот Фаберже – просто гений и величайший художник нашего времени».

С 1885 по 1916 год Фаберже создал для императорской фамилии пятьдесят пасхальных яиц. Восемь пропали бесследно в смутные 1920-1930-е годы. Сорок два оказались разбросаны по крупнейшим коллекциям и частным собраниям. Девять из них – принадлежат фонду «Связь времен». Эта коллекция вторая по величине в мире. На одно яйцо больше – только в Оружейной палате Московского Кремля.

Уникальность собранию придает то, что оно включает этапные произведения: самое первое яйцо императорской пасхальной сюиты «Курочка» (1885), а также яйцо «Бутон розы» – первый пасхальный сувенир, подаренный Николаем II императрице Александре Федоровне в 1895 году. Великолепное яйцо «Ренессанс» примечательно тем, что оказалось последним, которое императрица Мария Федоровна получила из рук Александра III, за 8 месяцев до его смерти, а «Орден св. Георгия» 1916 года - последний пасхальный подарок матери от Николая и единственный, который она сумела увезти с собой, покидая мятежную Россию в 1919 году. «Коронационное» яйцо – одно из самых известных. Оно было преподнесено императором Николаем II своей царственной супруге в 1897 году, в память о коронационных торжествах, состоявшихся в Москве годом раньше. Внутрь его помещена миниатюрная модель золотой кареты, в которой молодая императрица следовала на церемонию, проходившую в Успенском соборе московского Кремля.

Помимо пасхальных яиц императорской серии, в собрании представлены три яйца, изготовленные Фаберже для герцогини Мальборо (в девичестве Консуэло Вандербильд, внучки американского железнодорожного магната) и русской купчихи Варвары Кельх. Впрочем, ассортимент фирмы Фаберже не ограничивался пасхальными сувенирами. Здесь выпускались портсигары, ювелирные украшения, драгоценная галантерея, письменные принадлежности, презентационные произведения с императорской символикой и др. Образцы этих изделий также можно увидеть на выставке. В большинстве своем они являются мемориальными предметами, принадлежавшими членам русской императорской фамилии, как например лорнет великой княгини Елизаветы Федоровны, пробковый портсигар с дарственной надписью императрицы Александры Федоровны супругу, часы с хрустальным глобусом из дворцового имущества.

Многие экспонаты, представленные в собрании, имеют клейма Михаила Перхина – самого известного мастера, работавшего с Карлом Фаберже. Составить представление о его творчестве позволяют не только пасхальные яйца, почти неизменным создателем которых он оставался вплоть до своей смерти в 1903 году, но и другие шедевры коллекции – уникальная рамка для фотографий с вставками из горного хрусталя, принадлежавшая вдовствующей императрице Марии Федоровне; папка-бювар, поднесенная императорской чете представителями С-Петербурга по случаю возвращения Николая и Александры в столицу после коронации.

Творчество Фаберже – давно стало одним из самых узнаваемых и ярких символов России. Тем значительнее факт возвращения на родину столь значительной и значимой части его наследия, ставший «удивительно романтичным окончанием одной из самых захватывающих историй в истории искусства».

 

Посмотреть все